Indies And The Underground

"Exposing New Music To The Blog-Reading Masses"

New Amy Winehouse Album ‘Lioness’ Due Out In December


Amy Winehouse’s first posthumous release, Amy Winehouse Lioness: Hidden Treasures, is slated to be released on December 5. The album will feature new songs the singer was working before her death, as well as early demos of tracks like “Tears Dry On Their Own” and “Wake Up Alone” from 2006′s Back To Black. Lioness will feature cover tunes like “The Girl From Ipanema,” The Shirelles’ “Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow” and “Valerie” as well as “Like Smoke” a duet with rap icon Nas that came about after the late star name checked him on the Back To Black cut “Me and Mr. Jones.”

The UK Sun was invited to a secret listening for the album. Amy’s father Mitch got emotional when talking about the music and his late daughter.

“I spent so much time chasing after Amy — telling her off — that I never realized what a true genius she was.

“It wasn’t until I sat down with the rest of the family and listened to this album that I fully appreciated the breadth of her talent. From jazz standards to hip-hop songs, it took my breath away.”

“One of the new songs on the album, Halftime, I’d never heard before. It is just incredibly beautiful,” he said while wiping away tears. “Had the family felt this album wasn’t up to the standard of Amy’s others, Frank and Back To Black, we’d never have agreed to release it. We believe it will stand as a fitting tribute to her musical legacy.”

Proceeds from the album will go toward the Amy Winehouse Foundation, which helps various children’s charities. Learn more about Lioness HERE, and view the track list below.

“Our Day Will Come” (reggae version)
“Between the Cheats”
“Tears Dry” (ballad version)
“Wake Up Alone”
“Will You Still Love Me Tomorrow”
“Like Smoke” featuring Nas
“The Girl From Ipanema”
“Best Friends”
“Body & Soul”
“A Song For You”

Add A Comment